Kerala State

Go to Homecontact  
Politics of Kerala

Kerala hosts two major political alliances: the United Democratic Front (UDF—led by the Indian National Congress)and the Left Democratic Front (LDF—led by the Communist Party of India (Marxist) (CPI(M)). At present, the LDF is the ruling coalition in government; V.S. Achuthanandan of the CPI(M) is the Chief Minister of Kerala and Oommen Chandy of the UDF is the Chief Opposition leader.Compared with most other Indians, Keralites are well versed and keen participants in the political process. Strikes, protests, rallies, and marches are ubiquitous

BJP - Bharatiya Janata Party
CPI - Communist Party of India
CPM - Communist Party of India (Marxist)
INC - Indian National Congress
NCP - Nationalist Congress Party
CPI(ML)(L) - Communist Party of India (Marxist-Lenninist) (Liberation)
JD(S) - Janata Dal (Secular)
JD(U) - Janata Dal (United)
KEC - Kerala Congress
KEC(M) - Kerala Congress (M)
MUL - Muslim League Kerala State Committee
RJD - Rashtriya Janata Dal
RSP - Revolutionary Socialist Party
SHS - Shivsena
AKMDMP - All Kerala M.G.R. Dravida Munnetra Party
CMPKSC - Communist Marxist Party Kerala State Committee
INGP - Indian National Green Party
INL - Indian National League
JP - Janata Party
JPSS - Janadhipathiya Samrekshna Samiti
KEC(B) - Kerala Congress (B)
KEC(J) - Kerala Congress (Jacob)
LJNSP - Lok Jan Shakti Party
RSPK(B) - Revolutionary Socialist Party of Kerala (Bolshevik)
SJP(R) - Samajwadi Janata Party (Rashtriya)
SLAP - Social Action Party
UIPP - United India Peoples Party